2017-2018 Maricopa Community Colleges Creative Writing Competition Winners

Mar, 2 2018


Students will be honored at the annual Maricopa Community Colleges Creative Writing Dinner on Wednesday, April 4, 2018, at the Desert Oasis at Scottsdale Community College. Student work will be published in the Maricopa Community Colleges Creative Writing Book, Passages, which will be presented to all students at the dinner in April.

First Place winners move on to the national League for Innovation in the Community College competition!

1st Place: Jacob Perez, Mesa Community College, How to Cross the Border Illegally or How to Make Tamales de Rajas
2nd Place: Krysta Evans, Scottsdale Community College, 1994 Toyota Pick-up
3rd Place: David Garn, Mesa Community College, Moon Watch
Honorable Mention: William Alewyn, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, Jesus of Juarez
Honorable Mention: Morgan Riffle, Mesa Community College, White Dress
Honorable Mention: Andie Vidales, Mesa Community College, Father
Honorable Mention: Taylor Shepard, Mesa Community College, In My Dream

1st Place: Bree Hoffman, Scottsdale Community College, Rage
2nd Place: Laura Manna, Rio Salado College, Rain Dirt Sky
3rd Place: Liesl Meador, Glendale Community College, The Devil in October
Honorable Mention: Gavin Riccobene, Scottsdale Community College, Tearing Off a Vest
Honorable Mention: Benjamin Hogberg, Mesa Community College, Nowhere to Be Found
Honorable Mention: Cassandra Kellogg, South Mountain Community College, Memoir
Honorable Mention: Morgan Butters, Mesa Community College, How to Kill a Writer

1st Place: Sara Steven, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, Merry-Go-Round
2nd Place: Malka Daskal, Paradise Valley Community College, Charitable People
3rd Place: Emily McNeill, Scottsdale Community College, Darcy
Honorable Mention: Ambriel Cooley, Chandler-Gilbert Community College, Orthodontist's Armageddon
Honorable Mention: Colleen Murry, Mesa Community College, Scavengers
Honorable Mention: Serenity Davis, Mesa Community College, Thorns to a Rose
Honorable Mention: Antha Perkins, Scottsdale Community College, Ignes

One-Act Plays/Screenwriting:
1st Place: Adam Cadena, Scottsdale Community College, A Glitch in the Turing Test
2nd Place: Jaime Robinson, Mesa Community College, What's in a Name
3rd Place: Robin Hartwell, Scottsdale Community College, Hell for the Company
Honorable Mention: Alex Ozers, Phoenix College, Poor William, Poor Doug


Share this news article