Submitted by MCCDAdmin on Wed, 01/11/2017 - 16:47

Hendrix, elected to represent constituents from District 1, will serve on the Board through December 31, 2020. As a member of the Arizona House of Representatives from 2008-2010, he was Vice Chairman of the Commerce Committee and also served on the Education Committee.

Hendrix brings considerable entrepreneurial business experience to his elected position. He has been self-employed since graduating college and has owned and managed businesses specializing in auto repair, manufacturing, home construction, land development, retail sales, import/exports, business consulting, legal services, and banking.

Thor will serve as an At-Large member, also through December 21, 2020. Her previous experience includes for 41 years in community college administration, 29 years as a chief executive officer.  Thor is President Emeritus of Rio Salado College in Tempe, Arizona, where she served for nearly 20 years. She is also Chancellor Emeritus of the Foothill-De Anza Community College District in California’s Silicon Valley, a post she held for 5 and a half years.

Prior to becoming Rio Salado’s president in 1990, Thor was president of West Los Angeles College in Culver City, California. Thor’s appointment as West Los Angeles College president in 1986 followed a successful tenure as senior director of occupational and technical education for the Los Angeles Community College District.  Earlier she served the L.A. District as director of high technology centers and services and director of communications services.

After the new members were installed, the Governing Board elected its officers for the 2017 term, choosing Gutierrez as Governing Board President and Thor as Governing Board Secretary.

The seven Governing Board members are elected from five geographical districts within Maricopa County and two At-Large positions representing the entire county. Board members are elected in staggered years to four-year terms.


About Maricopa Community Colleges

The Maricopa Community College District includes 10 regionally-accredited colleges–Chandler-Gilbert, Estrella Mountain, GateWay, Glendale, Mesa, Paradise Valley, Phoenix, Rio Salado, Scottsdale and South Mountain–and the Maricopa Corporate College, serving more than 100,000 students with two-year degree, certificate, and university transfer programs.

Governing Board

The Maricopa County Community College District (MCCCD) Governing Board installed incoming board members Dr. Linda Thor and Mr. Laurin Hendrix, and returning board members Mr. Alfredo Gutierrez and Mr. Dana Saar on Tuesday afternoon in a swearing-in ceremony held at the District office.